Slow and Steady Prepare To Usher in The New Year with ‘Songs That Don’t Belong (To Me)’

Posted 1 year ago by Joel Funk

Last year, Slow and Steady released their criminally underrated debut album, In Time We Belong. Spoiler alert: I was floored by that record. Released in August of 2015, the album’s somber and introspective tone made it the perfect record for the stark transition into fall — evoking comparison’s to Mansions 2011 masterpiece, Dig Up The Dead. On the literal cusp of the new year, Slow and Steady are back with a four-song cover EP called Songs That Don’t Belong (To Me) Vol 1. 

This collection of songs pulls from the pool of incredible music that’s been released this year, and includes songs from TW Walsh, David Bazan, Chris Staples, and Andy Shauf. The songs cover the spectrum of Jacob’s influences — from the team that brought you the incredible Pedro The Lion to Andy Shauf, whose new album, The Party, saw a lot of love in 2016. You can hear the love Jacob feels for these songs in his covers, and its incredible to hear something new from Slow and Steady, even if it isn’t technically new.

Songs That Don’t Belong (To Me) Volume 1 is out now! You can purchase the EP here (proceeds will be going to friends of Lawter’s that were effected by the devastating Tennessee wildfires from earlier in the year), and you can stream these songs below.